MLB News

Pirates Nationals appeal play fourth out rule

Pirates Nationals appeal play fourth out rule


Pirates Nationals appeal play fourth out rule

n”,”providerName”:”Twitter”,”providerUrl”:”https://twitter.com”,”type”:”rich”,”width”:550,”__typename”:”ExternalEmbedContent”},”$ROOT_QUERY.getForgeContentBySlug({“locale”:”en-us”,”slug”:”pirates-nationals-appeal-play-fourth-out-rule”,”type”:”story”}).parts.3″:{“data”:{“type”:”id”,”generated”:true,”id”:”$ROOT_QUERY.getForgeContentBySlug({“locale”:”en-us”,”slug”:”pirates-nationals-appeal-play-fourth-out-rule”,”type”:”story”}).parts.3.data”,”typename”:”ExternalEmbedContent”},”type”:”oembed”,”__typename”:”ExternalEmbed”},”$ROOT_QUERY.getForgeContentBySlug({“locale”:”en-us”,”slug”:”pirates-nationals-appeal-play-fourth-out-rule”,”type”:”story”}).parts.4″:{“content”:”**What did the umpire say? nCrew chief Mark Wegner, to a pool reporter:** “This is the first time I’ve been on the field for something like this.”nnWhat happened? “… \[Pirates manager Derek\] Shelton originally came out saying that the ball wasn’t caught. So we got together to make sure that we had a catch by the first baseman. Then after that, we made sure that everybody knew what we had, and we had three outs and the run scoring … the defensive team could appeal for a fourth out — \[that\] is what it’s called — that the runner from third didn’t tag up. But they have to do that.nn“So the pitcher and the infielders already crossed the foul line. So now they can’t even appeal for the fourth out. So that was that situation.nn“The other part of it is — and this is another important part, which it’s a crazy play, but it was ruled correctly — is that any time there’s an appeal it has to be — the player, the fielder, has to be doing it for the obvious intent of appealing.nn“In the play that happened, when the third baseman tagged the runner, the third base umpire pointed and said, ‘He’s out. The runner’s out for…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at MLB News…