Gordi Myer to Represent Toledo as an ECHL All-Star

Lester Drives in 42 and 43 in Loss vs Louisville

December 28, 2022 – International League (IL)Toledo Mud Hens News Release

Toledo Walleye defenseman Gordi Myer
Toledo Walleye defenseman Gordi Myer
(Toledo Mud Hens)

(Toledo, OH) – Defenseman Gordi Myer has been named an All-Star for the 2023 Warrior/ECHL All-Star Classic presented by Optima Health and Sentara Healthcare on Monday, Jan. 16, 2023 at Norfolk Scope Arena in Norfolk, Virginia.

This is the first All-Star nod for Myer, who has 11 points (4G, 7A) in 26 games played this season. The Toledo native started this season with a bang, scoring a goal in three of the first four games of this season that included scoring a goal in the first two games of the season on the road at Wheeling. The 26-year-old is in the midst of his best month of the year with a goal and six assists in 12 December games.

Myer skated in 55 contests for the Walleye during the 2021-22 season, posting 25 points (5G, 20A). He also got his first taste of the AHL this past season with eight contests for the Walleye AHL affiliate, the Grand Rapids Griffins (2A). In Toledo’s run to the Kelly Cup Finals, Myer had a goal, five assists, and was a plus four in 21 contests.

The 2023 Warrior/ECHL All-Star Classic presented by Optima Health and Sentara Healthcare will consist of a tournament featuring the ECHL All-Stars and the Norfolk Admirals, with an integrated skills competition with points counting towards each team’s score.

There have been 71 players from the ECHL All-Star Game who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 55 since 2002 when the lineups began having players who coaches felt were prospects to move up to a higher level.

The rosters for the Eastern Conference and Western Conference All-Stars were determined in a vote of coaches, team captains, media relations directors, broadcasters, and members of the media.

Eastern Conference All-Stars

G – Cam Johnson, Florida Everblades

D – Michael Brodzinski, Orlando Solar Bears

D – Olivier Galipeau, Trois-Rivières Lions

D – Jarrod Gourley, Adirondack Thunder

D – Luke Martin, Jacksonville Icemen

D – Derek Topatigh, Atlanta Gladiators

F – Collin Adams, Worcester Railers

F – Pat Guay, Savannah Ghost Pirates

F – Bear Hughes, South Carolina Stingrays

F – Alex Ierullo, Greenville Swamp Rabbits

F – Max Newton, Reading Royals

F – Zach O’Brien, Newfoundland Growlers

F – Mathew Santos, Maine Mariners

Western Conference All-Stars

G – Jake Kupsky, Idaho Steelheads

D – Josh Maniscalco, Wheeling Nailers

D – Matt Murphy, Iowa Heartlanders

D – Gordi Myer, Toledo Walleye

D – Andrew…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at OurSports Central International League IL News…