MiLB News-AA

Hooks Announce Prep Softball Preseason All-Stars

Backed by 13 Hits, Frisco Pen Shines

January 5, 2023 – Texas League (TL)Corpus Christi Hooks News Release

CORPUS CHRISTI – Student-athletes from 18 area programs comprise the 2023 South Texas High School Softball Preseason All-Star Team, which will be honored Thursday, January 26 at the Omni Hotel in downtown Corpus Christi.

San Diego and Santa Gertrudis Academy each boast three representatives in the Private-3A Division. Along with a pair of Odem and Refugio picks, Aransas Pass, Falfurrias, Incarnate Word Academy, London, and Riviera Kaufer sport single selections.

The 4A-5A Division is balanced by six schools – Alice, Bishop, Calallen, Carroll, Flour Bluff, and Tuloso-Midway – each earning two placements. Veterans Memorial, Sinton, and Ray round out the large-school contingent.

Alaunah Almaraz (Calallen), Jamie Burch (Sinton), Sedalia Flores (Bishop), Ava Hernandez (Alice), Aylah Mata (Carroll) and Jade Moreno (Flour Bluff) were also recognized as preseason all-stars a year ago. Moreno is now a three-time selection.

The 30 softball standouts were elected by head coaches from 31 Coastal Bend high schools.

American League All-Star and Rawlings Gold Glove catcher Jose Trevino returns to the Sparkling City as featured speaker for the 17th South Texas Winter Baseball Banquet, presented by Whataburger.

Ray High School product Nick Loftin, now starring in the Kansas City Royals system, will be recognized as the Mike Adams South Texas Pro Player of the Year. Prior to Jose Bravo and Justin Dirden being presented with their Hooks POY hardware, the banquet culminates with Astros coach and Refugio native Dan Firova receiving a lifetime achievement award.

Doors open at 6 PM and the program begins at 7. Call 361-561-HOOK (4665) for tickets.

2023 South Texas High School Softball Preseason All-Stars

Private-3A Division


Ava Aleman – Incarnate Word Academy – Sr.

Jocelyne Galvan – Aransas Pass – Sr.

Krysten Perez – San Diego – Sr.

Skyler Ramos – Kaufer – Jr.

Kristal Rodriguez – Refugio – Sr.


Makaylee Adams – San Diego – Sr.

First Base

Isabella De Los Santos – Santa Gertrudis Academy – So.

Second Base

Aubriela Ochoa – Falfurrias – Jr.

Third Base

Trinity Silguero – Santa Gertrudis Academy – Jr.


Parker Rhoden – London – Sr.


Chadriana Callis – Refugio – Sr.

Carina Palacios – Santa Gertrudis Academy – Jr.

Bella Salinas – Odem – Sr.

Designated Player

Zoey Garcia – Odem – Sr.


Marlaina Sanchez – San Diego – Jr.

2023 South Texas High School Softball Preseason All-Stars

4A-5A Softball…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at OurSports Central Texas League TL News…